bad news, facts of life, good times, Ideas, major rant, Rants

“How Was Your Day?”

Grrr. I hate this question.

I think it’s supposed to be reassuring, let others know that you care about them, and to generally have something to spark a conversation, and that’s okay. It really is. It’s just that it’s (usually) just a social nicety and the asker doesn’t actually care, even if they accompany it with a smile (but if it’s accompanied by a concerned look and its your mother, then maybe she does care…just a little). Plus, many of many of our days are mundane, so much so that the answer is not likely to interest you very much. Do you really want to know what I bought at the grocery store today? I would tell you because it’s so exciting that even I can’t remember. Do you really want to know how I spent my day…sleeping? Really? Really? Or are you just fishing, no, floundering something to talk about. Or is it another reason? Do you want someone to ask you how your day was and this is your best shot? If so, then just come out and say it with “guess what!?” or something. There’s no need to ask insincerely about someone’s day and then get mad when they tell you every boring detail. (Hint: if you didn’t want to know, then why did you ask?). It might not even get you anywhere.

You: How’s your day been?

Them: Good. <walks off>

See? Now how are you going to tell them about your awesome news if they just walk off like that. Wouldn’t it be better to arrest their attention, captivate them where they stand with HEY GUESS WHAT?!!” What’s that? You don’t want to sound self-centered? … BUT YOU ARE! So just own it and go on and tell your good news. That’s perfectly all right as long as you’re not so self-centered that even after you get everything out and it’s their turn, you turn the conversation right back around to you. No. That’s not cool.

Now if you’re one of those people who actually cares about my day, then YAAAY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH. You guys are awesome and I love every one of you that I come across. Just so you know. 🙂

If you’re asking this out of boredom. Stop. It shows. That just makes being around you uncomfortable: we have to answer a question that we know you don’t care about. Enough said.

Finally, I want to explain a little more about why this question is generally annoying. It’s annoying because I can’t answer it. I never stop in the middle of my day and go “<gasp> How am I doing? Oh no! HOW AM I DOING? SOMEBODY TELL ME!!! This is a serious question that I must answer RIGHT NOW!” No. That never happens. I never evaluate how I’m doing. I just follow my schedules and my whims and see what happens. Rarely do I even sit down and evaluate my entire day. When I do sit down to evaluate myself, usually it’s an event that happened or a person I ran into. It’s never my day as a whole. Even when bad things happen in my day, I hardly declare that I had a bad day just because a few bad things happen. Sometimes at the end of a ‘bad day,’ something truly amazing happens and, it becomes a good day, despite the fact that the bad outweighed the good in pure numbers. If that good thing couldn’t happened without the bad things, then I don’t feel like I can call it either a good or a bad day. But most of the time, my day is rather mundane. And that’s okay. Neither bad nor good days would be so impactful without a plethora of mundane days. So don’t ask me how was your day, ask if anything interesting happen today? (a bit awkward, but you can spice it up). How are things going for you (a little vague, but better)? Did you do __ ? (if you know me/the person well) Basically, get specific. Specifics signals that you care, not that you’re just passing the time. ‘Cause being talked to just to pass someone else’s time insults you doesn’t it? So don’t do it to others. Thanks! 😀

Standard

Reply!

